Legion M Presents Inaugural Fan-Voted Breakout Director Award at the 45th Annual Saturn Awards, Celebrating Fandom and Hollywood’s Rising Star Filmmakers

Online Voting for the Legion M Breakout Director Award is Now Open Exclusively to Its Fan-Community, Including New Members Who Can Join Legion M Today for Free

Legion M announced today that the world’s first Fan-Owned entertainment company is presenting its inaugural Legion M Breakout Director Award at the 45th annual Saturn Awards show on Friday the 13th of September, in Hollywood. In celebrating the brightest new feature film directors in science-fiction, fantasy, and horror, Legion M is giving its more than 100,000 members, including nearly 20,000 investors, an exclusive opportunity to select the winning director for the new award. Legion M members have until 11:59 p.m. PDT on Wednesday, September 11 to cast their official ballot. Fans interested in becoming a member and voting for the Legion M Breakout Director Award can join today for free at legionm.com/saturnawards.

The live online ballot for the Legion M Breakout Director Award features eight of Hollywood’s hottest film directors and their first feature length film from the past year, including Ari Aster (“Hereditary”), Michael Chaves (“The Curse of La Llorona”), Lee Cronin (“The Hole In The Ground”), Gary Dauberman (“Annabelle Comes Home”), Steven S. DeKnight (“Pacific Rim Uprising”), Boots Riley (“Sorry To Bother You”), Christian Rivers (“Mortal Engines”), and Emma Tammi (“The Wind”). The recipient of the Legion M Breakout Director Award will be the first Saturn Award winner chosen exclusively by fans, exhibiting Legion M’s influence in the industry through the collective power of fandom.    

“We’re thrilled to be making history at this year’s Saturn Awards by introducing this important award celebrating new directorial voices while empowering our fan-community with the votes to make the final decision, a privilege typically only offered to industry insiders,” said Paul Scanlan, Co-Founder and CEO of Legion M. “Being directly involved in one of the biggest awards ceremonies of the year by introducing the Legion M Breakout Director Award, and having the winner selected by our members and investors, is yet another example of how Legion M is opening the gates of Hollywood.”

“Legion M is the world’s greatest fan-owned company and the perfect partner to launch the Saturn’s first ever fan-voted award,” said Justin W. Hochberg, Executive Producer of the Saturn Awards. “Celebrating eight of this year’s best first-time directors who are revolutionizing the way films are made with our first ever Legion M Breakout Director Award is part of Saturn’s never ending mission to recognize great genre creators.”

The Saturn Awards is an intimate, invitation-only industry event, and Legion M members have an exclusive opportunity to enter to win a pair of free tickets to this year’s awards show plus the  pre-show cocktail reception and VIP after party. A select number of Saturn Awards show tickets are also on sale only to Legion M members at legionm.com/saturnawards, with one pair of tickets given away via drawing (No purchase necessary). For more information on how you can become a member of Legion M for free and be eligible to win or buy tickets to the Saturn Awards, please go to legionm.com/saturnawards. Entry for the ticket giveaway will end at 11:59 p.m. PDT on Sunday, September 8.

For more information about Legion M, please visit legionm.com. For information on how you can vote for the Legion M Breakout Director Award, please visit legionm.com/saturnawards. The 45th annual Saturn Awards show will take place on Friday the 13th of September at the historic Avalon Theater in Hollywood, California. Information on how to watch the Saturn Awards show via livestream will be announced soon.



About The Saturn Awards

Since 1973, the Saturn Awards honor the very best in science-fiction, fantasy and horror entertainment and is the official award presentation of the non-profit Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films. The Academy was founded in 1972 by noted film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed to recognize films often overlooked by mainstream awards. Recent past winners include Black Panther, The Shape of Water, Get Out, Gal Gadot, Mark Hamill, Danai Gurira, Ryan Coogler, The Walking Dead, Sonequa Martin-Green, Tom Holland and Chloe Grace Moretz, among many others.

The Saturn Awards is produced by veteran television producer Justin W. Hochberg, CEO of Saturn Media, Inc. a live event, digital media and social commerce company launched in conjunction with its partnership with the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror headed by President Robert Holguin. The newly created Saturn Awards Advisory Board includes prominent creatives in entertainment such as Roberto Orci (Star Trek, Transformers 1-3), Christina Steinberg (producer of the Oscar winning Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse), filmmaker Dean Devlin (Independence Day), producer Roy Lee (It, Bates Motel), director Robert Rodriquez (Alita: Battle Angel, Cannes winner Sin City) and director/producer Kirk DeMicco (The Croods, Lin Manuel-Miranda’s Vivo) Oscar-winning director Peter Ramsey (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse). These new partnerships will expand the Saturn Awards brand to create a home for fandom year-round, with new content currently in development and capitalizing on decades of never-before-seen exclusive archival awards show footage with fandom’s legendary icons over its 45-year history.

Rob Novickas